By Cecilia Ijuo

The Nigerian Customs Service Board has approved the appointment of three Deputy Comptroller General (ACG).

This is contained in a statement by the Superintendent of Customs, Mr. Abdullahi Maiwada, on behalf of the National Customs Public Relations Officer, Mr. Timi Bomodi on Wednesday in Abuja.

Maiwada said that 1,490 senior general service officers and support staff were also promoted to various ranks, including Customs spokesman Mr. Timi Bomodi.

A breakdown of the appointments according to Maiwada includes ACG Greg Itotoh, ACG Festus Okun and ACG Shuaibu Ibrahim.

Some of the newly promoted comptrollers are Musa Omale, Zanna Chiroma, Stanley Nwankwo, Ajibola Odusanya, Paul Ekpenyong, Abubakar Umar, Maureen Ajuzieogu, MO Bewaji among others.

He said that 64 Deputy Comptroller (DC) were promoted to Customs Comptroller (CC), while 128 Assistant Comptroller (AC) were promoted to Deputy Comptroller (DC).

It also said that 89 Customs Chief Superintendents (CSC) were promoted to Assistant Comptroller (AC) and 220 Customs Superintendents (SC) were promoted to Customs Chief Superintendents (CSC).

Maiwada also said that 107 Deputy Superintendents of Customs (DSC) were promoted to Superintendent of Customs (SC) while 302 Deputy Superintendent of Customs I (ASC I) were promoted to Deputy Superintendent of Customs (DSC).

It said that 223 Customs Deputy Superintendents II (ASC II) were promoted to Customs Deputy Superintendents I (ASC I) and 357 Customs Inspectors (IC) were promoted to Customs Deputy Superintendents II (ASC II).

Maiwada further said that in a similar development, the service’s management had earlier approved the promotion of 1,252 men within the ranks of customs inspectors and auxiliary cadres.

According to him, the Comptroller General of Customs, retired Colonel Hameed Ali, congratulated the newly appointed and promoted officers.

He said Ali asked them to redouble their efforts to ensure the service achieved its goals. (NAN) (

Edited by Sadiya Hamza

About the Author