The Ekiti State Football Association held its farewell Annual General Meeting on Thursday 22 December 2022 and deliberated on various issues related to the Ekiti Football Ecosystem.

In the statement issued after the well-attended meeting held at Shores Complex, Peace House, Ado-Ekiti, the Ekiti FA Congress resolved, among other important issues, to express its thanks to the Governor of Ekiti State, His Excellency, Governor Biodun Oyebanji , and former Governor Kayode Fayemi, for their fervent support as pillars of transformation in youth development, using sport as a tool in Ekiti State. The Congress also urged Governor Oyebanji and his administration to remember their promise to take the development of the sport to greater heights, with the establishment of the Ekiti State Sports Commission.

Ekiti FA also expressed its deep appreciation to the Great Patron of Ekiti FA, Mr. O’Seun Odewale; Patron, Brother Akintunde Oyebode; to the Patron, Ms. Peju Babafemi and Patrons of the Local Football Council, LFCs, for their unwavering support and guidance to the association.

The Congress also congratulated and praised the efforts of the Nigerian Football Federation headed by the new president, Alhaji Ibrahim Gusau, for some of the successes recorded by the national teams in recent times. Similarly, the Congress expressed its appreciation to the leadership of the Ekiti State Sports Council, especially the General Manager, Mr. Kunle Adeyemi, for his steadfastness, exemplary leadership and warm relationship with the Ekiti FA.

In line with its stated determination to engender a sustainable football ecosystem, the Ekiti FA congress further appreciates all of its affiliates, including clubs, local organizations and those who play in various national leagues. Adding that the association will continue to do everything possible to provide adequate support to affiliates.

After extensive deliberations, introspection and in line with the provisions of Article 4 (1) (2) (3) and Article 9 (1) of the NFF Statute, 2010, Article 3 (1) and (2), Article 14 (1)(a), Article 27(m) of the 2015 EKSFA statute, the Ekiti FA Congress resolved and subsequently suspended Agbaje Olu, Moji Adekanye, Bello Mustapha, Adesina Oguntuashe, BO Babatola, Segun Adelakun and Lanre Ajayi, indefinitely so that they would not continue to participate. in matters and activities related to football in Ekiti State, for their gross violation of the provisions of the Statutes and other existing laws governing football, thereby ceasing to be stakeholders in the State Football Association from Ekiti.

The statement further revealed that the Congress approved the Ekiti State Football Association’s proposed plans and budget for 2023, especially the elective assembly, scheduled for May 2023, to elect a new leadership.

As the FA’s current leadership fades, Congress agreed to step up efforts to build capacity in the ecosystem, starting with local football councils and among respective club owners and managers in Ekiti State, and exposing them to more developed climates with a view to taking the game to the next level of development in the Ekiti State.

The 16 delegates of the local football councils were present at the Annual Congress; Nigerian Coaches Association, Ekiti State Chapter; Ekiti State Council of Referees; Nigerian Football Supporters Club, Ekiti State Chapter and

Nigerian Professional Football Association, Ekiti State Chapter.

Post Views: 85