The Nigerian Olympic Committee (NOC) urgently needs to work with the Ministry of Youth and Sports Development to establish a branch of the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in Nigeria.

The FCT chapter of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) made the call on Sunday in Abuja while congratulating the NOC on its successful Jalingo elections on Thursday.

Bunmi Haruna, the president of the chapter, said in a statement that the establishment of a CAS in Nigeria would “go a long way to neutralize the highly disturbing threat of court cases in Nigerian sports.”

FCT SWAN, while congratulating NOC President Habu Gumel on the election in which he retained his post, also advised on early preparations for the 2024 Olympic Games scheduled in Paris.

“We also urge you to immediately put athletes’ preparation for the next Olympic Games into action,” he said.

The chapter urged Gumel and the NOC to “play politics so that the government releases the funds in time” for the athletes’ preparations.

Gumel garnered 21 votes to beat Sani Ndanusa, who garnered 19 votes Thursday in elections held in the capital Taraba.

“Congratulations to Gumel and everyone who was elected in Jalingo.

“It is good to see notable names such as former D’Tigers captain Olumide Oyedeji, former Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) President Solomon Ogba and respected journalist Tony Nezianya on the new NOC board.

“We have no doubt that they deserve their posts because they have paid their dues,” Haruna said.

However, he stated that FCT SWAN believes there is a need to run inclusive governance to build on past successes.

“We need to work to build on the successes recorded at the recent Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, for example, and support Nigerian athletes to have an outstanding start for Nigeria at the upcoming Olympic Games in Paris, France.

“So you have to make development your priority.”

NAN reports that those chosen in Thursday’s elections include Ogba as first vice president, Ishaku Tikon as second vice president and Oyedeji as third vice president.

The rest are Olabisi Joseph as 4th Vice President, Musa Kida as Treasurer, Nezianya as Public Relations Officer (PRO), Tunde Popoola as Secretary General and Abdullahi Mohammed as Assistant Secretary General.