…Akpabio, Machina make the list

The Independent National Electoral Commission has published the final list of presidential and National Assembly candidates from all political parties participating in the February 25 elections.

The publication of the final list of candidates for the national elections (presidential, senatorial and federal) was made in accordance with section 32 (1) of the Electoral Law of 2022 and article 8 of the Calendar and Calendar of Activities for the General Elections of 2023.

The publication of the full names and addresses of all the nominated candidates on Sunday followed the holding of the primaries and the completion of the nomination exercise by the political parties.

It was also a continuation of the disclosure of the personal details of all nominated candidates in their constituencies throughout the country, as provided by section 29(3) of the Electoral Act.

The published list contains the names of the candidates validly nominated for the national elections at the close of the primaries of the parties and the period provided for the withdrawal and substitution of candidates.

The presidential candidates of the People’s Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar; the Congress of All Progressives, Bola Tinubu; Labor Party, Peter Obi; and Rabiu Kwankwaso’s New Nigeria People’s Party were on the final list.

Similarly, on the presidential ticket were Daberechukwu Nwanyanwu, the Zenith Labor Party’s presidential candidate and running mate, Ramalan Abubakar; presidential candidate Dumebi Kachikwu, African Democratic Congress and his running mate Ahmed Mani; among others.

The released list also contained the names of Senator Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State and Senator Peter Nwaobishi of Delta State, as well as Bashir Machina, who replaced Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without the prior written permission of PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]