The minister of youth development and sport. Sunday Dare, praised the organizers of Sportsville’s annual Special Recognition Award for their credibility and for creating a forum to celebrate those at the forefront of sports development in the country, saying it will encourage more Nigerians to do more for the country. .

Chief Dare, who received the prestigious award last year, vowed to honor the ceremony with the full complement of his senior management staff.

“Rest assured, I will be there in person to be a part of this timely and noteworthy event,” he said in his acceptance notice to chair the event.

He adds…”The award aligns with my vision for the development of sport in Nigeria by encouraging individuals and corporate organizations to join with governments to bring our sports to the desired height, as government alone cannot do it.

“You can see how our involvement of individuals and companies through the Adopt-an-Athlete Initiative is yielding positive results,” explained the Minister.

Sportsville Executive Director, Hon. Frank Ilaboya in a statement thanked the Honorable Minister for identifying with the Award and promised that the annual award will continue to add value to the Minister’s initiative to celebrate excellence in the sports industry.

“I want to thank the Honorable Minister of Sports for agreeing to not only honor the event but play the role of Chairman on the night.

“We are pleased that the number one figure in Nigerian sports is endorsing the event. This means a lot to us as an organization and we want to sincerely thank the Minister”, added an emotional Ilaboya.

Edo State Vice Governor Rt Hon Philip Shaibu will also join the minister as a special guest of honour.

More than 16 personalities and corporate organizations have been shortlisted for this year’s award.

Headlining the list of honorees at this year’s event are Governors Douye Diri of Bayelsa State and his counterpart from Lagos State, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu. The First Lady of Edo State, Ms. Betsy Obaseki, and the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Governor of Imo State and former Director General of the National Sports Commission, Dr. Patrick Ekeji, are also among the distinguished laureates .

This year’s award comes on Saturday 4th February 2023 at the Lagos Country Club, Ikeja.