The 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory will compete in 38 games, Team Edo, which was runner-up in the last edition organized by the state, will compete in 36 of the 38 with around 700 athletes.

In table tennis, the Delta team won the gold medal in the women’s team after defeating the Oyo team 3-0.

The Delta team consists of the West African champion, Fatima Bello, Rashidat Ogundele, Ajoke Ojomu and Aminat Fashola.

Delta State Fatima Bello defeated Oyo’s Fatimo Kazeem 3-0 (11-4, 11-6, 11-7) at the Stephen Keshi Stadium Indoor Sports Center in Asaba.

Ajoke Ojomu battled hard against Halima Hussain to win 3-2 (11-3, 9-11, 5-11, 11-8, 11-3) before team captain Rashidat Ogundele sealed victory for Delta.

Harun Usman Akamsoko from the Oyo team won a gold medal in Taekwondo Poomsae, Agada Elijah also won the first gold medal for the Nasarawa team in Taekwondo Poomsae.

The Edo team claimed their first medal in the men’s cycling 500m sprint.

Latifat Tijani also secured another gold medal for ogun state in weightlifting after the state won two gold medals on opening day.