NAN also reports that the PDP defectors were led by the vice president in the Oyo West local government area, Alhaji Mumini Azeez Y Mr Wumi Oladejiwhile other party members were led by their respective leaders.

Statement issued by the APC Publicity Secretary in the state, Olavale Sadarehe described the defection as a “serious depletion” of the ranks of the ruling party and other political parties in the state.

According to the party, the defection is an indication of APC’s readiness to defeat all candidates from other political parties in the 2023 general election.

In his remarks, Azeez described his former party as “a haven of deceit” where no reasonable citizen should play his politics.

Among the deserters were: Ejide Saka Jewel (CAD), Ms. Olawumi Kola (PDP), Mr Nurudeen Abule (Agreement), Mrs. Olaide Akande (ADP), Pastor Sulola Taiwó (Agreement), Mrs. Eniola Oyelere (Agreement) and Mr Mustafa Sakiru.

They were all greeted by the APC candidate for the Oyo Central Senatorial District, Dr. Yunus Akintundethe House of Representatives candidate for Afijio/Atiba/Oyo East/Oyo West,Prince Akeem Adeyemi Y Hon. Kazeem Arole.

NAN reports that the APC gubernatorial candidate in the state, Senator Teslim Folarinwas represented by Mr Yemi AderibigbeDeputy Director General of the Oyo APC 2023 Campaign Council and Alhaji Tajudeen Olanitathe APC Secretary of State.

Also present on the occasion: Sadare, Alhaji Yinka Folarin, Honorable Femi Akintunde, Honorable According to Taiwo, Honorable Billy Ogundele, Chief Ogundijo Ogundiran, Chief EO Olaoye and Chief Sunday Elegbede.