The 73-year-old is NOC president for the fifth time after winning Saturday’s election in Taraba.

The NOC election took place in Taraba state with other elected executives.

Gumel won the election with 21 votes to defeat the closest rival, Sani Ndanusa, who had 19 votes.

Other elective positions are; First Vice President Solomon Ogba won with 24 votes, while Second Vice President Ishaku Tikon was unopposed.

Third Vice President Olumide Oyedeji won with 24 votes, Tunde Popoola emerged as Secretary General while Deputy Secretary General Abdullahi Muhammed was unopposed.

Engineer Musa Kida emerged as treasurer with 22 votes, while Tony Nezianya is the new PRO.

The NOC is a body responsible for coordinating the Nigerian team at the Olympic Games, Commonwealth Games and other international games.

The NOC is a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and is a member of the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC) and the Association of African National Olympic Committees (ANOCA).

It has as members all the sports federations in the country.

The 73-year-old emerged as NOC president in 2001 for the first time and served two consecutive terms until 2010.

He returned in 2014 as president, winning consecutive terms from 2014 to 2022.