By Emmanuel Afone

Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) President Dame Martin Louis formally congratulated Habu Gumel, the newly elected Nigerian Olympic Committee (NOC) President.

A statement signed by the NOC’s Public Relations Officer (PRO), Tony Nezianya, quoted Louis also congratulating other elected NOC members on their successful election.

“I would like to send my congratulations to Eng. Habu Gumel on his re-election as Chairman of the Nigerian Commonwealth Games in the recent elections.

“Keep in mind that, as always, our team is here to help, so please don’t hesitate to reach out when necessary,” Louis said.

It should be remembered that Gumel got 21 votes to defeat his opponent Sanni Ndanusa, a former Sports Minister who got 19 votes at the NOC Congress in Jalingo, Taraba state.

The latest victory had now seen Gumel with a record fifth term having served the first term as NOC president in 2001 and then serving two consecutive terms ending in 2010.

Ndanusa appeared to have thwarted Gumel’s push for a third term after winning and leading the NOC from 2010 to 2014.

Gumel finally recovered in 2014 and consistently defeated Ndanusa in other subsequent elections.

In other contested spots, Solomon Ogba of the Bobsled & Skeleton Federation defeated Francis Orbih of the Badminton Federation, 24-16 votes for the 1st Vice President spot.

Ishaku Tikon of the Table Tennis Federation was elected unopposed to the Second Vice President seat with 38 votes, while former D’Tigers captain Olumide Oyedeji polled 24 votes to emerge as the third Vice President, beating out Daniel Igali of the Wrestling Federation. , which got 15 votes.

Olabisi Joseph of the School Sports Federation emerged as the fourth vice president after garnering 23 votes to beat out four other contestants.

Tunde Popoola of the Hockey Federation emerged as Secretary General with 24 votes and Abdullahi Mohammed as Deputy Secretary General unopposed with 40 votes.

Musa Kida, president of the Nigerian Basketball Federation, was elected treasurer with 22 votes after defeating Bappa Aliyu, who got 18 votes, while Tony Nezianya was elected public relations director.

Nezianya, a veteran sports administrator and journalist, who retired as Director of the Nigerian News Agency, served the NOC in this same capacity between 2001 and 2009. (NAN)(

Edited by Vivian Ihechu

About the Author